Mr. Hopkins said I can finally buy his 48!!

The name is Justin I'm 35 years old and live in Hudson Wi

I've been a welder and fabricator for 15 years.

I specialize in tig welding

I love 50's cars a truck's, rat rods as well

Also vintage Harley's

This seems like a great forum !

My projects are

75 scout 2

58 f100

And now a 48 pilot house panel truck

I've been eyeing this 48 panel truck for 10 years now

Finally Mr Hopkins said I could buy it for a fair price 800.00

He has always wanted over twice that

The truck has been parked since 79

Do to a hot spot in the motor from a cracked block repair

For being sunk in the ground for years, the truck is in a solid condition ....

Doors are in great shape,open and close sweet

Floors are solid

Wood bed is not rotted

The panel truck has two dents - one the size of a baseball

Some rot through on the lower rear qrtr's

I get to dig it out of there this Sat!

My plan for the truck is to ....

Lower it 4"

Disc brakes up front

Chevy 350 Turbo 400

Patch panels in all rotted area's

Clear coat on the original paint

I will post my pics as I'm digging this gem out..

What do you guys think ?

post-6434-0-53103900-1380460081_thumb.jpg

post-6434-0-97528500-1380460171_thumb.jpg

post-6434-0-83047400-1380460198_thumb.jpg

Edited by Silo-rodncycle
  • Like 3

Welcome,  Looks awesome, You will find after you get it out that there will be a lot of rust on the floor boards.  Sitting on the ground in WI climate draws all the moisture in.  Hopefully I am wrong about this one because it does look cool.

What is the School bus behind your truck?  I got dibbs if its a dodge. 

Todd B, also a wisconsin native.

Todd I'll be over at the property tomorrow

I'll take a look at that bus

Also I did notice a pilot house 1 ton with a flat bed

I'll snap some pics

The flatbed truck looks like its touched some salt roads

It's a little rough

Mr Hopkins is in his 80's he now wants to sell se stuff

Keep you guys posted

Justin