1949 Dodge B1B Need Help

I am new to these trucks. I have a 49 B1B that has been stored in a barn for quiet some time. I don't know if it runs of even know where to begin checking things to try to make run. First off I'm don't think the truck has a batter and I cannot find where a battery might go or ever where one would hook up. I'm pretty mechanically inclined and would like to get this thing running and fixed up a little bit but just don't really know where to start to get it running.

I tried to post a picture but would not upload for some reason.

Edited by thall0726

The battery compartment is located under the floor board at the drivers feet. Make sure you clean the battery connections real well at both ends. Good luck and congrats on finding a nice old truck

Edited by Reg Evans
  • Like 1

Pretty much guaranteed that the brake system is a complete write off. Even if it looks good. I overhauled my trucks brakes in spring 1994, by spring 2011 from sitting up again they were junk. Wheel cylinders had become full of "green sand", the gunk you get when DOT 3 eats aluminum, steel and rubber. Before you even think about turning over the engine by the starter (really fun process to learn, not being sarcastic here) take out each spark plug and add at least 1/4 cup of 50/50 ATF and acetone. Let it sit for a couple days, add the same amount and wait another day or so. These engines have cast iron blocks, iron rings, and aluminum pistons, there will be at least one stuck ring you need to soak free.

Find a socket that will fit the crankshaft nut. Get the longest breaker bar you can find and try to turn the engine over by hand. My crank socket for 40's engines is huge, 1 and 13/16 inch, 3/4" or 1" drive, but has 4 holes to use rod stock as breaker bars. Sockets that large are not cheap, you want a vintage USA made one, not modern thin wall chi-com pot metal.