tire width for DeSoto Suburban

DonaldSmith
Go to solution Solved by soth122003,

I've been running 205-75R15's on the car for 14 years.  They still look good, but continuing to run them goes against conventional wisdom and the vested interests. 

I know. this is like which oil is best. 

14 years seems a little long in the tooth.  It's only 75 miles from my house to the Desoto Convention in Chatham, Ontario this fall.  I'm mulling over popping for some modern whitewalls, like the present set. Maybe $600 for peace of mind?   Or risk a blowout, and see of Mother Mopar's wheels steer straight like the old commercials, and whether Canadian Tire would treat me well.   

Instead of 205s, would the narrower 195s look more vintage?  The charts say that they will fit 15x5 wheels.  Maybe the smaller footprint would handle better?  or worse? and put more or less stress on the wheels?  (I added power steering, so parking is no problem with the 205s.) 

Another thing to throw in the pot is the curb weight of the car, 4,000 lbs plus contents.  

Thoughts? 

• Solution

This might help. Also there is a thread currently on page 1 with the header "tires" that might be of interest.

https://tirepressure.com/tire-sizes 

I checked the P195/75r15 @ 26 psi will support about 1279 lbs. each tire. 32 psi supports 1411 lbs. each

Joe Lee

Edited by soth122003