'55 Pilot-House find

I'm new at this, so please bear with me.  I found a 1955 Dodge Pickup in a shed, and I need someone to give me an approximate value.  It was so dark in the shed I couldn't get decent pictures.  VIN plate reads: VN 82374145,  M# C3-B6-108.   Body looks all original except the bench seat, tail lights, and aftermarket wheels.  Body and frame seem mostly sound with some rusting on floor and cab behind doors.  Bed floor is totally deteriorated and loose from frame in front.  Sides and tail gate OK.  Driver's side glass is missing, all other intact.  Inside door panels are missing.   Engine is an in-line flathead six with 3-on the tree.  I assume it is the 218 C.I.D., head # 1311804-2; block # Pi5*590482*.  Electrical remains a 6-v system.  I turned the engine by hand, so it's not seized-up.  The owner wants $ 3,000. for it, but I just don't know what to offer.  I cut my teeth on these old "charmers," and now I'd like to play with one again.  Any help anyone can give will be most appreciated. 

P-15 car engine block.

Value is too subjective to honestly set. Bed floor is junk, and to replace correctly is not cheap. Stock wheels and hubcaps are getting hard to source if you wanted more of a restored look. Stock seats worth rebuilding are harder to find yet.

What route do you want to go with it? Resto, resto-mod, retro-mod, lowrider "bomb trokita", rat, grandpa's old farm truck... end goal is going to also help set your upfront willing to pay price.

If she'll run and drive as found with some fresh fuel, air in the tires and a boost, pay the man $1500 and drive her home. If she's just barn art, 10 cents a pound.

I have seen 3 pilot houses in the last year sell either privately or at auction.  They were in similar condition and were not running when sold.  All were under $800.  However buying one of these to restore is like buying a dog, initial cost is minimal compared to the dog food, vet bills, etc. that come after you bring the barking thing home.