Repainting P15 hubcaps?

Oldguy48

My P15 hubcaps need freshening up.  The red paint is deteriorated.  Does anyone have a technique they can share on doing it?  I am NOT good with a tiny paint brush. (My late mother was a very accomplished artist, but alas...I don't share her talent.) I would guess that Mother Mopar had a simple way of accomplishing this feat that did not involve an artist with a paint brush.  I tried a search on this forum, but didn't find an answer.  Any and all suggestions would be appreciated.  Thanks.

Wayne

I tried several procedures to repaint the red on my hub caps, trunk emblems, etc.. I had the best results using a rattle can with a quick drying enamel in the approapreiate color..

I started off by cleaning the metal surface with lacquer thinner, I then carefully masked the areas that I did not want to paint using the "blue" masking tape..I made no attempt to mask the small raised areas of the sails on the clipper ship..

I sparayed a "tack" coat on the bare metal, let it set for a few minutes, then sparayed a secont coat, allowing it to slightly dry, I then sprayed a third and last coat.

Within a few minutes of spraying the paint, it was almost dry to touch, I pulled the masking tape..Using a clean cotton, lint free rag, which I placed over the end of my finger, I carefully wiped the paint of of the "sail rigging" etc..

The project takes patience and a steady hand... Trial and errow will produce a very satisfactory job..

I tried spraying the entire item and then wiping the excess paint off of the item.. This proved to be very unsatisfactory... I also tried brushing the paint on.. Did not work... A spray can worked best... Bill