Glass cleaner?

Oldguy48

What do you use for glass cleaner? I've tried many different products, but have yet to find one that leaves my windows clean and streak-free. Alcohol-based, ammonia-based, etc. all seem to leave streaks that may not be noticeable at first, but when the light strikes the glass at the right angle, the streaks are apparent. Hopefully, someone has discovered a product/technique that produces clean windows. Help!:confused:

As a side note I wash windows for a living. For flat glass use a sqeegee. When its curved glass use two towels...one to get the initial fluid up and the other to do a buff. Keep buffing even after it looks dry. I usually do smaller sections at a time as well. Dont try to do the whole window (especially in warm weather) as the fluid will dry faster than you can buff it out. Try the mixture on your bathroom mirrors which are very unforgiving for streaks. Buff buff buff. A chamois works great for the final buffing but a towel will do in a pinch. I rinse all my glass towels twice as the washing machine will leave some residue in the towel which will affect the buffing.

Regardless of what cleaner you use the key is to use a wet cloth dry cloth method. Also if you want to try something else, buy oe of those shower squeegees they sell in dollar stores, about 4 inches wide. Some have a nylon mesh deal on one side.

Wet down the glass with your solution, use the nylon scrubber to work the solution, re wet and then use the squegee to remove the solution.

Then use a dry lint free cloth to remove the rest of the solution and polish the glass.