Hi, I'm new to the P15-D24 forum

Malu

I'm in Manitoba Canada. I have just purchased a 1951 Dodge DG2-24 truck, it's a 1 ton in very good condition for it's 72 years. It has a flathead six engine, but not too sure what size it is, the engine & transmission (4 on the tree) works and runs, the truck has almost no rust, the chassis has been painted with black Rustolium oil based paint & seems to be in good shape. It needs new rubber all round & the drivers windshield is cracked, the interior is in good condition, both doors shut smoothly, I don't think the bench seat is original but it's in very good condition. It's got a flat bed which is completely rotten and I'm not sure if it originally came with a backbox. I want to keep the patina. I would like some advice on the 1951  Dodge from the forum. I'll put 4 pictures on for your perusal.

Dodge DG2-26 truck.jpg

Dodge DG2-26 truck-0.jpg

Dodge DG2-26 truck-1.jpg

Dodge DG2-26 truck-2.jpg

Edited by Malu

1 minute ago, Eneto-55 said:

Great to see you over here.  Welcome to the best old MoPar forum on the internet.

Oh, and nice to see the pictures.

Thanks Eneto, this is where I should be.

I just snagged this one a couple weeks because my son wanted it so took it on trade.....he will build this to what he wants...the ole man just did the locating and arranged delivery.    There is always a bit of excitement in a new find.....congrats....you going to have fun. 

65 dodge.jpg

Edited by Plymouthy Adams

Oh my @Plymouthy Adams That reminds me of a favorite old truck of mine .... Paint it orange and will be perfect!

@Malugood looking project, your truck came with either a flatbed or no bed.

If you look at @Dodgeed truck it has running boards that go all the way to the rear fenders.

Yours go to the end of the cab. While it may not be the original bed .... or it could be, it never had a pickup bed with rear fenders. .... Unless the running boards were also swapped out.