Patching holes

Normspeed

OK, I'm not experienced at body work although I did some amateur repairs back in school daze. Now, my car has a few screw holes that need to be filled. Some are from trim that was removed over the years, some were drilled by a prior owner, like when he decided to mount the license plate on the tailgate.:confused: These are generally 1/4" to 3/16" screw holes.

My question, is it acceptable to use something like Bondo to fill these small holes, or is it necessary to weld up the holes first? I'd like to get started on some of the minor body repairs that I can do without a garage and a welder. This is not a restoration job, just a fix up clean up.

Your opinions/tips?

Evidently there are some types of body filler that are better than others for the purpose you stated. I bought some type of filler once (don't recall what it was)......son-in-law who knows body work....said not the right stuff.

I don't know what the right stuff is, so you might want to check around with someone knowledgable.

I am in the middle of major body work as we speak - I write - whatever. The "right stuff" is Duraglass or it's equivalet. It is used ordinarily by marine folks for fibergloass, and is totally waterproof. My suggestion on the coupe is to take a body pick hammer and countersink each hole you wish to fill just slighly, so the rim or metal edge is below the finished surface. Get your 4-inch grinder and grind a few inches of clean metal around each hole, then fill the holes with this stuff. It is quite stiff, and will fill major holes. When it dries, it is like iron to work down. I would carefully grind this stuff down so that it is just below the finished surface - or alternately scuff it down with 36 grit paper. Then use your conventional WalMart bondo or its equivalent to do the final gody work over top of the Duraglass.