39 Plymouth coupe & intro

gunnibronco

Hi,

I joined up a little while ago, and had been reading a few threads before that. I want to introduce myself and my "new" car.

I am completely new to building any kind of hot rod. I've built a modified 74 Bronco over the last 15 years. I worked for 4 years at a bodyshop until recently, mostly metal & repair, but I picked up on some painting. I learned how to do body work right, and enough to pass my ASE Master Collision Tech tests. Unfortunately, the economy of my little town forced me to go back into sales to pay the bills. I grew up working for a guy who restored GTO's, and bought and sold a few hot rods while I worked or him.

I made a deal with a friend who has too many cars, to buy his 39 Plymouth Coupe after he showed me a couple of old pictures. I always wanted to build a hot rod, and I really liked the lines on this car, and he told me it was in good shape and nearly complete. We went to Grand Junction a few weeks ago and picked it up. It is really in good shape, some rust in the floors, the motor & trans were swapped for some GM V6 & 3 speed, but was never finished. It was missing the center grill trim & emblem, head light reflectors, floor pan, but not much else. I did the nasty task of cleaning 30 years of mouse & rat nests & droppings out a couple weeks ago. The smell is slowly getting better.