question about new batteries

=PlyPals=

Hi there!

Last 2 trips with my p15 ended up push-starting the car.

My battery was as dead as a turkey on thanksgiving, eventough I just made a "several miles" tour.

after checking the p15-d24-site (reference-section), I tought the optima 850cca would be the best option. (the car doesn't drive daily (neither weekly...))

Unfortunately, that battery is no longer available.

The battery that was used was a 600cca wet cell. The p15-d24-site recommends 685 cca or 785 cca...

Could there be any problems with stock voltage regulators if I try another 6v battery?

I'm not a complete noob... some parts are missing... :D but I appreciate some hints and tips!

Grtz,

Kurt

PS: also going to install a master switch! 'cause I think I have a leaking circuit somewhere... (still the original, but looking good, wires)

How does your ammeter read. Have you tried the test to temporarily jumper wire the field pos on the gen to ground doing so at a high idle should peg the ammeter to the postitive side if the genny is working correctly. If it doesn'y you might need to service the generator brushes. If it pegs then that indicated the Voltage regulator isn't working properly.

(snip)

after checking the p15-d24-site (reference-section), I tought the optima 850cca would be the best option. (the car doesn't drive daily (neither weekly...)) Unfortunately, that battery is no longer available.

(end snip)

Where are you located? If you are nearby, I've got a 6V Optima that I'll give you. It hasn't been used in a while, but was in excellent condition when I changed to 12V.

Marty

Greg G:

I did not check that... It is certainly worth to try. However, I'm pretty confident that it is a simple battery-problem. Anyhow, I'm going to check it!

Martybose:

Ouch... my bad! I live in Antwerp...Belgium... A couple of miles too far :)

But I appreciate the offer! Thanks!

grtz,

Kurt

Kurt ,