engine help

First of all I would like to say this forum has been a big help to me because before I bought my one-ton I had never restored a vehicle before. By reading previous posts and looking at all the great pics on here I decided I would give it a shot. There is a great wealth of information and expierenced auto restorers on this forum. I am not even done with my one-ton yet and look forward to my next dodge truck! Now for my question.. My 230 engine ran fine before i pulled it. It had about 35,000 miles on it and didnt smoke. Does it need to be totally rebuilt , or just gaskets, cleaning, and paint?And being I have never done this before, is this something I can attempt , or is it better left to professionals? I am pretty mechanically inclined and would like to attemp it .Are there any good how-to books out there? Thanks.. Bob:cool:

Guest El Rust box
First of all I would like to say this forum has been a big help to me because before I bought my one-ton I had never restored a vehicle before. By reading previous posts and looking at all the great pics on here I decided I would give it a shot. There is a great wealth of information and expierenced auto restorers on this forum. I am not even done with my one-ton yet and look forward to my next dodge truck! Now for my question.. My 230 engine ran fine before i pulled it. It had about 35,000 miles on it and didnt smoke. Does it need to be totally rebuilt , or just gaskets, cleaning, and paint?And being I have never done this before, is this something I can attempt , or is it better left to professionals? I am pretty mechanically inclined and would like to attemp it .Are there any good how-to books out there? Thanks.. Bob:cool:

First of all, i would like to say that "anyone can do anything if they really want to, and put their mind to it"!! All it takes is the will, and a little research. Dont ever feel bad about asking questions, no matter how "dumb" they may be.