Elec water heater

Young Ed

Unpleasant surprise this spring the cabin water heater stopped heating at all. Goggling says the upper thermostat controls both and is a common failure. So yesterday I ran up there with one and still don't really have hot water. If you hold your hand under the hot and then the cold you can feel a little difference but it's still far from even warm. Unfortunately I didn't think to grab a thermometer. Buddy that was with managed to get a really ancient volt meter going and we confirmed power at the top thermostat and element. Nothing to the bottom which according to one article we found is expected. So time for new elements? Hoping to get this right as it's 120miles to the cabin and once their the closest good sized hardware store is 50miles.

I am not an expert on that style of water heater but my parent’s last house had one. It is my understanding that there are two temperature sensors, one for each heating element. And they are wired such that if the upper heater is on then there is no power to the bottom one.