1948 Chrysler Royal problems with ignition

colbs

I have a 1948 Chrysler Royal that I've been restoring since 2019 thats about 97% all original. Last year I replaced the dash and engine wires with a harness from RIW bc the car started having problems starting (points, condenser, and ignition coil had already been replaced) and the car was running again but my brakes had a catastrophic failure and I had to down the car again and then it started dead celling 6V batteries (4 in a year) I decided to go to the starter next and check all connections there and ensuring proper wiring and connections. I pulled the starter and cleaned all 4 posts on the solenoid and put the starter back in, when I hook the battery up positive ground the engine starts immediately turning over with the switch off and the keys in my pocket, ive done every configuration of the wires on the solenoid and it still turns over with no key in the switch, I did find a 6V positive ground solid state ignition and put it in and when it was completely unhooked the motor still turned over, any ideas or guidance is appreciated!

So it turns over but it doesn't start right?  Sounds like you have a bad starter button switch.  In other words, it's always connected.  I've never heard of that kind of problem.  Something is not turning off the battery power to the solenoid, probably the starter button.  Also, to avoid battery problems, I always disconnect my ground cable (positive) from the battery when the car is not in use as a safety precaution.  Also the starter motor has nothing to do with the keys in your pocket.  The keys are for the ignition.  The starter has a separate button switch.  Sounds like it's not opening when your finger is off of it.  

Edited by MarcDeSoto

50 minutes ago, MarcDeSoto said: