A833 advice regarding clutch adjustment

belvedere666

I’ve searched the other threads on the a833 and I haven’t seen any sort of info specifically on clutch adjustment after the swap.

i put an a833 into my 50.

I was able to get the car round the block for a couple laps and then the clutch pedal just fell to the ground. I can pull it up manually but it doesn’t pop back up.

Anyone have any expert advice on how to fix this?

What pressure plate did you use? I have had trouble with diaphragm pressure plates sucking to the floor at high RPM. A floor stop post solved that issue adjusted just below disengage point (may take a few tries).

Do you still have pressure? If so, sounds like you need more return spring and a maybe a stop to keep from over extending. Regardless, issue is in linkage, throw out bearing, pressure plate, not the 833.

I have no experience with a 833 behind a flathead. If yours has OD, sounds like a nice set up.

Edited by 47 dodge 1.5 ton

4 hours ago, 47 dodge 1.5 ton said:

What pressure plate did you use? I have had trouble with diaphragm pressure plates sucking to the floor at high RPM. A floor stop post solved that issue adjusted just below disengage point (may take a few tries).

Do you still have pressure? If so, sounds like you need more return spring and a maybe a stop to keep from over extending. Regardless, issue is in linkage, throw out bearing, pressure plate, not the 833.

I have no experience with a 833 behind a flathead. If yours has OD, sounds like a nice set up.

stock pressure plate and throw out bearing. Replaced clutch disk with a 9.25 23 spline. Original is 9.25 10 spline. So it’s a perfect fit.

I cant get the clutch pedal to release the clutch disc.

the A833 I have IS the one with overdrive.

Then you have (2) issues? Not enough travel to disengage clutch & pedal sticking to floor when you use it?