Anyone know Model A's?

Sniper

My girlfriend's grandfather has a Model A.  Seems he can't get it to start, so since I "know old cars" he wants me to take a look at it.  This will also be my first meeting with him, yay, lol.  

First thing I did was watch a few videos on how to start one, then read up a bit on the procedure.  Not sure if he forgot how to do it or there is an issue.

That is pretty much all I know about it, right now.  Anyone have any pointers that might help?  Obviously, I'll carefully inspect the car, but I've never worked on one before.  Bad gas is also in my mind.  But any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

I would grab 4 new spark plugs, remember suck squeeze bang, blow, assure power to the coil, then do a basic ign system trouble shoot, and assure fuel delivery.  It's gravity from the cowl mounted tank so that should be easy.  The up draft carb can be problematic cuz you can't force feed gas like a down draft.

If it has vacuum wipers maybe you can squirt some gas or start fluid there to see if it will fire.

Edited by greg g

Make sure he has the battery hooked up right. Positive ground

Then the valve on the gas tank has to be open.

I’ve had the float stick in the carburetor.

Usual stuff.

Oh and retard the spark before you hand crank it. Better yet don’t try to hand crank it.

One of the reasons for self starters is the potential of kick backs.

That’s what killed the guy who owned the Thomas Motor Co. The company that built the Thomas Flyer which won the New York to Paris race of 1908.

• Like 2

Sniper you got this. It’s a no brainer for you. Automotive technical foundations are clearly understood and displayed here. 

Double win. You impress the girl and the dad. Maybe he’ll drop the shotgun bead he’s had on you for the past while. I’m sure they taught you in the Navy to run away in a zig-zag line anyway. 

Please do check back and report your findings. I’d be interested to hear how it goes. 

Edited by keithb7