1953 Plymouth 218 Carb issue

Gear Grinder

Strange carb..

Is there a name or any ID number on that carb anywhere?  It looks to be cast iron, which was common on agricultural machines.  Mopar supplied engines to some combine and even tractor makers, as well as airport tugs. 

As far as a replacement, the Holley mentioned earlier is good.  A compatible model was used on AMC/Jeep sixes also.

14 hours ago, Bbdakota said:

I used one of those Ebay yf type carbs on my 230 and been very happy with it.  They sell for about 60-70 bucks.

Here is the thread describing the replacement carb:

https://p15-d24.com/topic/51270-need-a-carburetor/?tab=comments#comment-544576

20190422_160032-1328x747.jpg

1 hour ago, greg g said:

You asked for a reasonable replacement so I will say again Holley for a slant six.

Hi Greg, I love Holleys. Maybe I am missing something as I am new to these engines, but I understood the 1953 P24  is an inline flathead 6 not a slant 6. Perhaps I am wrong, but here is a reference. https://www.t137.com/registry/help/otherengines/pengines.html

I am only trying to make sure I find a reasonable match for the engine. Do you have a suggestion for a Holley model?

The only markings I can find on this old carb are some stamps across the base: on one side has CLC and on the other 0512. Thus I am starting to doubt the availability of a rebuild kit. 

The YF carbs are also a good suggestion and I have found one more solution. Vintage Power Wagons sells a kit to mount a 2 barrel Weber carb on the engine.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxzO_Oy1EMLILVpJbF9UbXNoRVk/view

Decisions decisions and as a newby to these engines, I could use some wisdom here.

1 hour ago, Gear Grinder said:

but I understood the 1953 P24  is an inline flathead 6 not a slant 6. Perhaps I am wrong, but here is a reference

The carb don't know that. As long as the CID is not to far off and it can be easily connected, should work fine.