48 Chrysler Fuel Sender

48Windsor

I'm not that experienced with trouble shooting electrical stuff. I have a two wire sender on the tank. I have continuity between the center post and the flange, side post and about everywhere on the sender. Seems like the center post should be isolated. Just need to know if that's  correct or if a new fuel sender is next step. Gauge shows empty. Have power to the power wire at the sender for the center post.  I read some trouble shooting info somewhere on here but can't find it again. 

I see Tanks Inc. have a sender for early mopars for $35. 73 ohms empty, 10 ohms full. Anyone used one of these.??

It would be nice to look at the fuel gauge instead of watching mileage. 

Thanks 

TB

first off you need to know that the two wire is a 30 ohm resistor...the gauge is supplied with the power, has a built in voltage regulator and that the needle is pulled toward full and empty at the same time all the time power is applied as divided by the wiper across the resistor in the tank.    The sender you mention above is NOT going to work for you at all...