Charging problem

Cannuck

Hi again 

I am the owner of a 1948 Canadian built dodge sedan. I have a problem with the charging system.  I don't know if its a generator problem or a voltage regulator problem. 

Last evening was the first time this year that i had to use the headlights. They were quite dim by the time I had travelled the 10 miles to home and today i have been charging my battery.

The problem starts in the spring when i had installed the battery wrong. I had made it a negative ground .I drove it like that for a couple of months before being convinced the it should be a positive ground. I was told I would have to re polarize the system . We  used a jumper cable at the voltage regulator to accomplish this but the gentleman helping me thought there was a problem because there was very little spark . I had to take his word for this because i am no mechanic ,

Is there an easy way to check the generator ? Where do i start?

I could remove the generator but i am not setup to do a bench test .I would appreciate any suggestions. 

Thanks  

John

Has your ammeter been working?  Headlignts on, needle goes negative.  Assuming the motor is running above idle, the generating system should start to move the needle back to neutral.  

If the battery is not fully charged, and the  headlights are off, the needle should show positive, until the battery is more fully charged.

Yes we tested that yesterday i put the headlights on with the motor not running and the ammeter showed negative one bar of centre. Then i started the car and it stayed the same .

when I am driving the car with the headlights off the needle stays on centre.

I looked in the "electrical" section of the shop manual for my DeSoto, but didn't find a step-by-step procedure for "generator not charging".  Instead it talks of a generator bench test, and various tests for the regulator.   Some experts will have to chime in here.