What was your first car? Slightly OT

JohnTeee

Got this from my dad:

This has to be one of the neatest web sites whether you have gasoline in your veins or not.

This is a web-site featuring the original factory brochures for nearly every American car you have ever owned.

Pick the manufacturer, the year and the model. Enjoy!

American Car Brochures

(Of course, my first car was a FIAT . . .)

Cheers!

John

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Great idea for a thread. My first car was a 1958 Pontiac Pathfinder (Canadian model) four door sedan. Six cylinder (261 CID) and three on the tree. It was the plainest model there was but I sure loved that car and wish I had it now. There are lots of Pontiac brochures but the only one they are missing in the '50's is the 1958 one. I only have one picture of it but have never scanned it so I can put it in my Photobucket account. Got to do that one of these days.

When i graduated from college my Aunt gvae me her 1963 Nova Chevy II with the straight 6, automatic 4 door sedan, Light blue with radio no ac. If I remember correctly the car had 36K on the engine. I ran that for several years then sold this off.

Wish I had it back it was a great little car and the engines in the 196 did not die.

Rich Hartung

I've forgotten what year and model my FIAT was. Split Pea Green, early 70's, four door. I was young, dumb and it was affordable. A REPO by the local bank. That should have been my first clue. I suspect the folks who lost it knew it was going to be REPO'ed, didn't care, drove it hard and put it away wet. Turned into a money pit that I was glad to get rid of.

I almost bough a 'Poor Man's Corvette', an Opal, before that. One headlight was stuck open. Took it out for a test drive and it got stuck in third gear. Limped back to the owner with it and promptly forgot about that idea. Would have been a fun classic today.

Cheers!

John