New Manifolds

Tom Skinner

Pretty common. 600 degree is alright for engines and low heat brackets/accessories. 1200, 1500 or higher degree works better on manifolds, but will still discolor and smoke until fully cured.

I worked in the custom motorcycle industry for years. Nothing except PJ1 high temp paints for me. I believe they still make a super high heat aluminum paint (2200-2500 degree). Check the Harley Davidson and Volkswagen aftermarkets.

I know it is incorrect, but the 230 L6 exhaust/intake in my 49 B1B will be painted with BBQ paint or woodstove paint. Both get hotter than L6 manifolds...

They were painted, but like you said, it burns off quick. Only thing I've had great success with is flat black BBQ paint, and even then, unless you coat the inside as well it doesn't last.

If you want them to stay clean and shiny they'll need to be ceramic coated. Jet Hot has always had the best aluminum tone ceramic.

Thanks Fellows I thought about it and I have never really kept paint on my Exhaust Manifolds long - but they looked so purdy on the bench I got disapointed seeing some paint trying to cure off when running it for the first time. As a side note when I shut her down Hot I re-snugged all the nuts and they all really tightened up quite a bit more Hot/Warm then when first installed cool. Test Drive tomorrow after I use a Vacumm Gauge to set her at the best - highest setting.

Tom

I used rusteloeum BBQ paint on my exhaust manifold. I had it sand blasted then painted it right away to prevent any rust. I painted it about 2 months before I used it and used the whole can doing many coats on it. It had plenty of time to cure and when I started the car for the first time it smoked a little but went away in minutes. I have about 300 miles on the rebuild and the exhaust manifold still looks like the day I painted it, I hope it stays that way.

DSCN3817.jpg