Whatizit from finland

Uncle-Pekka

Cool it... It's most probably an american car...

This photo was taken in 1959 when the Christmas lights were lit in down town Helsinki (season opening for the shops). Santa Claus rode to town in this 1929 sedan. (text says "here comes Santa Claus")

The car is covered by frost and on the windshield there is a typical finnish winter accessory: A double glass sealed on to keep ice & frost off the screen.

joulupukkijpg.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Edited by Uncle-Pekka

61 views so far no comments...

Was it something I said? Sincerely no offense...

Well, at the time I posted this I did not knew myself the make of the car.

Yesterday night I studied "the spotters guide" by Tad Burness and now I THINK I know this car - You guys should also know... It is a mopar.

Nope - not a Dodge. Look at the radiator top. Also side window shape is typical with this very model. As I mentioned before: do not pay attention to the odd weatherstrip on the windshield - it's an aftermarket gadget.

• 3 months later...
Mikä kaupunki oli tämä kuva?

Hi Mark,

This is Helsinki - I scanned this from the capital newspaper "Helsingin sanomat".

I also put a thread on the web page of the veteran car club of Finland seeking more information of this car. Sadly and to my big surprise it seems, that in spite of that this DeSoto appeared in the first gatherings of the club in late 50's, it is probably been destroyed in the 60's (I do not have details, how it could happen...) Very sad incident - I have never ever seen this old DeSoto "a-live" (=ahead of me).

Cheers,

Pekka

P.s.

How come you know finnish language ???