Pertronix back to points conversion

'50 B2C

Hi All,

I'm new to 6 volt systems and the guy I bought my 1950 b2c from had installed a pertronix 12 volt ignition in it. I want to convert back to points but cannot find any literature to do so. Is it as simple as buying an "ignition tune up kit" with just the points, condenser, cap, and rotor? Seeing as how I've never seen inside the distributor when it was stock I have no clue what may be missing. Any of you done this?

Edited by '50 B2C

It should just be the condensor and points that you need to put back into the distributor. And some basic wiring change.

Do you have pic of whats under the distributor cap presently?

Edited by maok

When I put Pertronix into my distributor I had to make a minor modification to the points plate to accommodate the ignition module. This means I can't go back to points in this one. I don't recall the exact modification but it involved removal of a certain mount point for the points. Because of this I went shopping on "The Old Dodge Parts Home Shopping Network", aka Ebay, and found a distributor with the same model number as mine for a good price. I modified this distributor, after confirming that it was in good condition, and kept my original with points as a "backup".

Pertronix 1362 Installation instructions

If you read the above linked PDF of the assembly instructions for the Pertronix ignitor it does appear that some modification is necessary as Merle pointed out.

Might be less painful to pick up a new distributor and do a tune up on it.

It depends on which model distributor you have as to what if any mods were made to install the Pertronix module. I know I had to remove a metal tab on the base plate of mine. Probably the same situation as on Merles truck.

Fwiw the Pertronix mod has been totally perfect on my truck. It always starts easily and runs great. And I actually use this truck every day. And have for the last 4 years.