Gas Gauge Wiring

Cold Blue

This has me baffled. I am a rank amateur at electrical stuff...let's get that straight. I cannot get my gas gauge to work. I bought a new two wire sender, installed it. Two wires from it to the "1"and "2" posts on the gauge. Sent gauge off to be bench tested - tested OK. Bought a Runtz resistor. Hooked up the Runtz to a 12 volt ignition wire. Hooked up other end of Runtz to the "IGN" pole on the gauge. I have 12 volts to the Runtz, but no voltage getting thru. Checked all connections. Still no voltage to the gauge....Surely the Runtz is not bad - it's brand new. Tried grounding the switch mounting plate - nothing. What am I doing wrong??? Please help. Blue. (PS - the pink wire in the background behind the Runtz is NOT connected to anything.. green wire is 12 volts from ignition switch.)

DSC01881.jpg

3 hours ago, soth122003 said:

If your getting 12v to the runtz, then check ign at the gage for 6v or so. if it's not there, runtz is bad, or it is one way and you have it backwards.

Joe Lee

I am getting 12v to the Runtz, but none past the Runtz. I don't think you can wire the Runtz backwards. It has a nut for the ignition 12v to connect to, and a lead with connector for connection to the gauge. The Runtz is new - I guess I got a bad one??? Sure looks like it....

Found this picture that might help

make sure that the wire is not a ground for the reducer. Using a test probe check for voltage at the opposite end of the reducer. You may need to solder a wire to the connection point on the reducer once you find the output site

78E34179-129A-4EA1-BD0E-498415CEBBBB.png

Some have said if your sender is a two wire that they work on measuring the resistance through the winding on the sender making them voltage dumb.  So no modification of the circuit is necessary.  Can any one verify?

5 hours ago, First P15 said:

Found this picture that might help