Brake lights conversion

Cannuck

Hi 

I am in the process of going from one brake light to three.

Before I cut any wires, I understand I  splice the brake light wire and run it over to the right and left signal light bulb wire.

This seems quite simple but I  have a feeling I am missing something.

Thanks 

Thanks for the reply 

Yes I am aware that this topic has been discussed before , 

The reason I ask is because I was confused , I already have the dual element sockets andI  thought  I was missing some steps .

First running a wire  from the centre BL to the signal lights isn"t going to work 

Am I to run a separate wire from the   S/L switch to the rear signal light wire 

You mention a second dedicated wire on the S/L switch one going to the centre brake   light which it already does correct.and the other to the T/S switch This is what confuses me .

You can tell I am new at this .

Ok last year I wired in the new old stock signal lights I got my power from the ignition switch and ran new wires ti both front and rear park lights changing the bulbs to dual filament . This year I thought I would add the brake lights .My car is a 1948 dodge sedan with the old wiring harness, Not sure what else you require 

I do appreciate you taking the time .

your T/S switch should get its power from the brake light switch if you intend to utilize the two element socket for brake/ts and park/running light.....the center brake light will stay just as it is....dedicated wire to it along with this same electrical point of the BL switch feeding the TS switch...….what model TS switch did you use, do you still have the connection instructions?  If not, many of these aftermarket wiring instructions are easily found on the internet....

Thank you Plymouthy

Mine is a Signal stat 400 I will look on line for the wiring diagram. 

It is my understanding that I should be using the turn signal bulb side for the brake light.