1941 6cyl.Gates Water Pump 42554 Quality?

rboutain@gmail.

I owned a 1941 Plymouth Coupe from 2007 to 2013, sold it like a dope...........but soon after I bought it the original pump started leaking, the car was an older resto and it was the original style greasable pump I obtained a Gates pump as a replacement and installed it without any issue, fitted straight on, it had the sealed bearing plus the later style circular impeller rather than the old style 2 eared impeller.............I cannot say nor remember where it was made, it came in a Gates stamped/printed box and more than likely was made in China as this was around 2007/2008.........so if I had to get a water pump again I'd certainly get another...........when I started playing with mopars  in 1971 I remember that I had no end of problems installing a water pump repair kit in the original 1940 Dodge pump at the time, they used a mongrel fibre washer that if you were not careful(I wasn't) it would break.....I hated those things..........lol.......and I always thought the 2 eared impeller appeared to be some sort of mopar joke.............but I'm a hotrodder and the cars had a 318 Poly since 1973 so I don't have that issue any longer and thats why I went for a completely new pump for the 41 Plymouth..................lol...........I rave a bit.............regards from oz......andyd     

All grease used to lubricate old style water pump ends up in block's water jacket. Even if I had to replace sealed bearing pump every year, I would do it for this reason alone.

1 minute ago, sser2 said:

All grease used to lubricate old style water pump ends up in block's water jacket. Even if I had to replace sealed bearing pump every year, I would do it for this reason alone.

How do you figure that? There’s a seal that separates the coolant from the bushing. Coolant shouldn’t get out and lube shouldn’t get in. The grease should just lubricate the bushing and seal.