Pulling The Radio In my '53

keithb7

My stock tube AM radio quietly died one day last fall. I never got around to pulling it to check it over.  It's about time I did. I have some tube amp experience and testing equipment. I think I can fix this once I get it out. I have an old tube tester as well. I suspect a dried up old capacitor or maybe a bad tube. 

I have a 1953 parts manual as well. No drawings in it. In my 1953 shop manual I see some info on removing the radio and speaker power unit.

Looking up under there with a flash light I see a few things. The radio is separate from the speaker/power supply? There seems to be tubes and cap-cans behind the speaker. You can see the radio in my pics here, then the clock beside it, then the speaker to the right of the clock. There is what I think is the power unit with tubes, behind the speaker. I see in the parts book they may call this a "shelf panel". Part number 150389, oval type speaker. Can anyone confirm if there are more additional tubes and caps inside the radio housing? I am wondering if I may have to pull the speaker shelf panel in addition to the radio unit to check over the circuit power supply. Or maybe I just pull the shelf panel and test everything there. I suppose I'll start there and see what develops.

I have never taken this part of the dash apart. I'll go with the service manual instructions and see how things progress. Any tips/experience appreciated. First time going in this for me.

Thanks, Keith.

-xXugZX1OzkMoIUQ-BI0Y8IBXnHoAzBYxFbbQkKp

AtOvoyFtO7dG5FIdb32ek7VYEht_OBV7O9ozmLcS

Basically this radio has three main connections to the dashboard.

Connection 1: Front - both front dial knobs. Take the knobs of, underneath you should find a nut. Take it off and that part is loose then.

Connection 2: Underneath the dash. For that you will most like have to take the heater switch assembly off. Between the radio and the heater assembly there are most likely 2 or 3 screws that need to be unscrewed.