Fluid Drive Vs. Fluid Torque Drive

keithb7

I am studying the two, to try and get it right in my mind. Am I on the right track here?

A fluid drive is an oil filled fluid coupler. Right? A fluid coupler is not a torque converter.  To the average Joe is may appear to be a torque converter, but it does not manipulate the torque.

A Fluid Torque Drive system utilizes a proper torque converter. It is like the earlier fluid coupler with the addition of 2 stators and curved turbines. The stators and curved turbines offer torque multiplication, correct? The stators spin on over-running clutches that allow them to spin freely when no torque multiplication is required. Driving flat on the hi-way for example at cruising speeds. When a hill adds load on the engine and slows down car speed, torque manipulation again begins. Am I on the right track here? The simple fluid drive does not offer these benefits. The torque converter offers larger variation of  torque, which is why I can drive around in my Fluid Torque Drive equipped 1953 Windsor deluxe in high gear range all the time.  Some questions:

Does the fluid drive run at cooler temps? I suspect yes. Does the fluid drive have any cooling for the fluid drive oil?

Does the fluid torque drive with proper torque converter, run at higher temps due to the oil changing direction within the stators? Sitting at a street light with clutch engaged and foot brake holding car stopped, and transmission, does this cause increased heat in the torque? If left in this condition for considerable time, say waiting for a slow train that stops and backs up, on a hot summer day, will the torque heat up considerably? I assume there is no real way to know what your torque temp is, or if it got pretty hot.  Smell of burnt oil maybe when draining torque oil. On engine-fed TC, I assume engine coolant could also get pretty hot in this situation also. No?