New to the Forum

jhmagill

Hello all.

New to the forum and new(ish) to the Mopar cars. Long time car nut with a small collection of antique cars and trucks along with a few newer. collectible cars. I recently found and bought a 1951 Plymouth Business Coupe. It is in VERY complete condition but in need of restoration. I do have a question for all the experts out there, seeing that I am new to the Mopar family this may be a stupid question. The car I bought is a "51" but the dash which is original looks to be a "50". It has the correct gauges as well as the painted wood grain finish for a 1950 car. Is this an anomaly or was this a common this?

Thanks 

Jim

3 minutes ago, jhmagill said:

Hello all.

New to the forum and new(ish) to the Mopar cars. Long time car nut with a small collection of antique cars and trucks along with a few newer. collectible cars. I recently found and bought a 1951 Plymouth Business Coupe. It is in VERY complete condition but in need of restoration. I do have a question for all the experts out there, seeing that I am new to the Mopar family this may be a stupid question. The car I bought is a "51" but the dash which is original looks to be a "50". It has the correct gauges as well as the painted wood grain finish for a 1950 car. Is this an anomaly or was this a common this?

Thanks 

Jim

Sounds like either it's really a 50 or someone has been swapping stuff around on you. 

check your body numbers.....the 51's that I have seen has never had the earlier gauges unless as Young Ed stated, it suited a builders fancy....some states issued titles for year sold, could this be your error as per the paperwork and you indeed have a 50..pics will help...grille and trunk should tell a lot also....hard to miss that frowning catfish 51/52 grille

Edited by Plymouthy Adams

I really don't believe things have been swapped around. Will a 1951 front clip fit on a 50 body?

1 minute ago, jhmagill said: