Hearing accessory

pflaming

I'm just beginning to use a microphone streamer device. It is programmed to my hearing aid to stream (transmit) sound from a distance. If my wife carries it with her, I can hear her from any room in the house, I can place it by the TV speaker and hear that. It is supposed to transmit 90' in an auditorium or sanctuary if worn by the speaker, will experiment by attaching it to the primary mic and . . .  Most quality hearing aides offer this.  So far I'm thrilled. 

IMG_0196.JPG

• Like 1

I an very happy for you Paul and feel that this device will work well for you as Darlene is a lovely person.

But really... a device that lets a fella hear his wife all the time? That would rule out any excuse of 'selective hearing' when it comes to having to complete those 'honey-do' jobs! Sometimes a fella just needs some clear head-space! :D

• Like 1

I have work related hearing loss.  When I was first getting it diagnosed, the Dr. asked if I had trouble hearing women and children, because of their higher pitched voices.  That was before the audiogram, so I was in a quandary, do I tell him "yes" and get it fixed?  Or do I run with it as a reason, versus an excuse?  I was getting a little tired of "you're ignoring me", so I got the hearing aides.  I can hear better (high frequency hearing loss can't be fixed, you can only amplify the higher frequencies), but now I'm annoyed by women and children more often.  Go figure.    

Update: the up side is that I can wear it on my shirt and hear quite well and can place it in the center of a table and pick up what is being said. By focusing on any one person can hear that voice. The down side is that this is a powerful microphone and tires me out after a while. It is very helpful in a car. But it is not perfect hearing, one still has to concentrate to hear and that is tiring. 

Edit: since I have only one ear, I cannot tell from where the sound is coming which adds to the challenge. 

Edited by pflaming