Freeze plug question

neil

Hi to all, I'm new to this fourm. Currently working on a 1940 Plymouth P10 and have a freeze plug question. How many are hidden? I have removed the five 5 along the left side of the block and I understand there is one under the clutch housing. Any More? I have also removed the cooling tube behind the water pump. The engine seems to run well enough to go ahead and repair the cooling system leaks and put a few hours on it before declaring it bad. Thanks ahead of time. Neil

I think the one "under the clutch housing" is actually a plug for the end of the oil gallery and/or camshaft. On my '33 there is a cooling system plug on the block above the bell housing. I was able to get access by pulling the front floor boards. But they redesigned the block in '35 so my experience with my '33 may be slightly different than for later engines. 

Hi Neil, I had two engines apart tis winter. Both had factory brass freeze (core) plugs on each end of the block as well as the five  plugs on the side. The brass plugs appeared to be original and were still in excellent shape. The steel plugs were rusty and seeping. I removed them anyway to clean the water jackets more thoroughly which were full of sediment. The bright steel cupped plug partially visible in the one picture provides access to the road draft tube chamber - also full of sludge. There is also one threaded plug with a hex socket on each end of the block for the main oil gallery. 

DSC07241.JPG

DSC07243.jpg

DSC06972.jpg

DSC07303.jpg

Than know s so much for the information, I now know I need to go ahead and pull the engine to get to the other plugs. I also found a lot of sediment in the lower freeze plug area so to clean it properly I will pull the engine . Thanks again, Neil

1 hour ago, rekbender said: