6v Versus 12v Electrics

likaleica

Hi again guys

Hope I'm not guilty of posting too many questions on here - I'm a newbie 1939 Plymouth owner with quite a few issues to sort on the car!

One immediate problem is that tho the whole car has been rewired, the original two stage pull switch for the headlamps and sidelamps has failed. I can get something similar here in the UK - but rated at 12v - 24v. As my car is 6v,  is it OK to use this switch?  Is it possible to ream out the original switch knob (made of an early plastic such as Bakelite I think) to fit the larger spindle of the replacement switch - or would I be better having the new spindle lathed down to the profile of the original?

Longer term I'm wondering if it's wise to convert to 12v negative earth - as I was advised by a guy with a 36 Olds who'd done this.  He uses voltage reducers on original 6v equipment such as gauges etc. But another very experienced enthusiast I spoke to said don't do it. I'd be grateful for any advice on this too,  please. Thanks guys

When you say the headlight switch has failed are you sure you are getting power to the switch? Have you checked it for power with a meter? Is there possibly a fuse located somewhere that has failed?

Using a 12 volt switch on 6 volts is not a good idea as the current draw on 6 volts is twice that of 12 volts and the internal contacts would most likely fail.

If you do indeed need a replacement switch contact the vendors who advertise on this forum as they may or may not be able to assist you.

• Like 2