1953 Dodge Pilot House - Thoughts?

godenades

Hey Everyone,

Thank you for accepting my application to join this forum.  From what I hear, this is the place to be if you want to learn and share experiences with your B series pickup.  I am learning more and more about engines/cars/trucks in general, so i am sorry if I sound newbie like, I am a newbie. :)

Yesterday i purchased a 1953 model, which is in excellent shape as far as rust goes... there are a few things that drive me crazy such as the spray painting (WTH were they thinking?) but at the same time, it is my understanding that the old man's son had painted it on there to help preserve the steel... nice story, i just don't think I am buying it... Either way, it is in excellent shape, very straight, surface rust only and 2 spots on the body that would need to be fixed if you were being picky... you may not even see them in the pics they are so small.  

The engine is running, though the key is missing... you basically have to hot wire it and forgive me if I am wrong but I believe the guy i bought it from connected a wire from the back of the key tumbler that went to the starter, he then jumped that the the constant and then there was a third post back there that he added into the mix to get it started.  It had been sitting for a few months and needed to run off the bad gas in the carb but once it did and it warmed up, wow, it purrs like a kitten.  

Gas tank has been hot tanked and needs to be installed still.  I have the front right original parking light and bezel, but the left is missing.  I also have all the other original "Dodge" chrome that goes around the hood area.  

Underneath is clean, slight surface rust but no cancer anywhere. I couldn't find one spot on this truck that had rust damage... only surface rust.