39 Plymouth Keys

likaleica

Hi Guys

Just to introduce myself I'm a newbie member from England and just bought my first Yank - a 1939 Plymouth Sedan. She's a right hand drive export model so not sure if she's a P7 or a P8 - maybe someone out there can tell me.  Main problem apart from the brakes not working is the dealer who sold me the car then stored it a while for me LOST ALL THE KEYS!   The ignition lock barrel (a Bosch item so probably not original ??) has 652 stamped on it - could that be the key number?  The driver's door and the trunk locks have no numbers visible (though I have not dismantled them.)  I COULD pay a locksmith a small fortune to make keys for the locks - and may yet have to...but I'd appreciate any information about obtaining the correct key blanks.  And finally a total klutz question - where is the  windshield wiper switch and are they electric or vacuum powered?  You see how little I know about my new pride and joy !

Thanks fellas

post-7434-0-41665500-1412284213_thumb.jpg

post-7434-0-49069100-1412284403_thumb.jpg

post-7434-0-13281100-1412284438_thumb.jpg

post-7434-0-83236500-1412284457_thumb.jpg

post-7434-0-41922000-1412284486_thumb.jpg

Hello and welcome. I am guessing that your super nice Plymouth is a P-7 because of the floor mounted gear shift lever and the plain dashboard. Also there is no chrome trim around the windshield. You do however have door vent windows which some of the P-7's did not. The wipers should be vaccuum operated but I am not sure where the switch is. Great looking car. Thanks for posting the pics.

John R

Hello and welcome. I am guessing that your super nice Plymouth is a P-7 because of the floor mounted gear shift lever and the plain dashboard. Also there is no chrome trim around the windshield. You do however have door vent windows which some of the P-7's did not. The wipers should be vaccuum operated but I am not sure where the switch is. Great looking car. Thanks for posting the pics.

John R