Bondo or ?

I am currently studying up for the next big phase on my dismantled truck, to occur as soon as I am finished removing the paint.  I will put epoxy paint on it and then move on to imperfections. 

The trouble is that the more I read online about body fillers, the more confused I get (I tend to get too analytical - it's the scientist in me).  The complexity appears to depend on the product.  I understand the part about getting the body as straight as possible before I start, use thin layers, sand level and feather edges, then add more thin layers of filler if absolutely necessary (I have yet to figure out if putty glaze is necessary). 

In addition, the "most tried and true products to use" part is where I get derailed.  Since I am a total novice at this, I thought best to ask for opinions.

1.  What products do you recommend for a total novice?

2.  What products do you use?

3.  Do you use "putty glaze" over your work?

4.  Did you use sanding blocks or air tools (and what type)?

5.  How long has it held up with out cracking, shrinking or turning loose?  From what I have read, if everything is done  

right, this is not an issue.

I have searched online (watched lots of video - some with conflicting info), this website, and the HAMB, but I think hearing from Dodge truck people that have actually used it on their vehicles would set my mind more at ease.

Thanks for putting up with a more than likely routine question.