Glove box bumper and plug

47heaven
Go to solution Solved by Andydodge,

I want to thank Joe Flannigan for hooking me up with the glove box door catch. I can now close the door without any magnets to keep it closed. The only problem now is that when I latch push button to open the door, it doesn't spring open. I'm assuming that it's because it's missing the glove box bumpers and plugs, which probably are meant to put pressure of the closed door to slightly pop open when the latch button is pushed? Where can I get some new ones or ones that would be equivalent for my P15? I didn't see them on AB's site.

• Solution

I think you maybe missing the glove box latch spring..........I have been playing with 1940 Dodges since 1969 when I bought my 1st 1940 Oz Coupe and after pulling another 6 or 7 1940 Dodge sedans apart I was still none the wiser........my wife always complained about how awkward it was to open the glove box lid...............however about 3 or 4 yrs ago I saw a thread on here about a Glove Box Spring and although I think it referred to a later mopar the light finally came on in my head!!!...............lol.......after seeing what was more or less originally there I worked out that a small spring steel clip that was used to hold brake lines onto a chassis would work if I drilled a hole here and cut and shortened it there.........and there you have it.......after 40 yrs both me and more importantly "she who must be obeyed" can now push the glove box button and the glove box DOES indeed open...........lol............thank you P15-D24 Forum........btw I can't remember who or when this was mentione d but it was about 3-4 yrs ago.............lol..........hope this helps........andyd

Assuming you have the correct upper latch.......a metal piece with a screw and nut through it......the screw can be 

adjusted in or out, then tighten the nut.

I had to adjust mine the other day as it caught and held too much.....had