1950 Plymouth Brake System Troubleshooting

jeffr777

Hello again all,

My recently acquired 50 Special Deluxe (purchased at an estate auction) has non-functioning brakes...when the brake pedal is depressed, it goes to the floor with no pressure or resistance.  The car appears to be all original and there are no apparent modifications.

Can anyone suggest the best way to troubleshoot the brake system (after making sure the master cylinder has brake fluid in it)?  As you can probably tell I'm relatively new to repairing this vehicle and would really appreciate any suggestions you might have.  I'm also thinking of replacing the master cylinder with a dual-reservoir system and any input would be very helpful  Thank you all again.

Here is what it takes as a minimum for good reliable working brakes.

#1.  A new  master cylinder, 

#2.new metal lines as they rust from outside and inside.

#3 new brake hoses as they swell from inside and crack from outside.

#4 New brake cylinders all around since they rust .

They SELL kits to rebuild cylinder 

(both master and wheel)but cant get them reliable unless you re-sleeve them

Then brake shoes and drums as needed plus hardware.

Shortcuts may lead to no stop when you need to most.

Upgrades to disc brakes and such available 

brakes are like a log chain,,,its as strong as its weakest link,,,,all new is ONLY way to go,,,,oops stop!!!!

Edited by Grdpa's 50 Dodge
  • Like 2

You will also need the approriate tools to work on the brakes and a good drum puller for the rear braskes since they have the tapered axle.

If you have the Lockheed brakes then the use of a borrowed AMMCO Brake gage tool to help set the toe and heel on the shoes.

Might also nees new oil seals and inner and outer bearings.

Rich Hartung

desoto1939@aol.com

• Like 1