Field Triage On The Brakes To Get The P15 Home

ssnowden

I've got a '48 P15 Business Coupe and it's 2 hours away on my dad's farm in a shed. I know that one of the back wheel cylinders is leaking and it has no brakes at all. However, I believe it will start and run well enough to get it on a trailer. 

The issue is obvious, I need it to be able to stop the car until I can get it to my garage to replace the entire brake system.

It's not in a location where you can do actual repairs. So, my question is, what is the best way to get any brakes at all to pull it on and off a trailer? One thought I had was perhaps I disconnect the line in the master cylinder going to the back brakes and put in a (I assume) 3/16th brass or steel plug. I'm thinking that would give me front brakes if I did that and give me the ability to stop the car. Again, I plan on replacing everything with new parts and never driving it on the road until I do. 

I'm not a mechanic, and one big goal of this is to learn all I can on this particular car so if this idea makes no sense, please let me know my best options. 

If working, the hand operated parking brake should be enough to do the deed.

EDIT:  the drum for the parking brake is on the tail section of the transmission, and secures the drive shaft/rear wheels from turning.

Edited by shel_bizzy_48

Thanks for the replies. 

It's not working, but I don't know if all it needs is adjusting. Is that a preferred solution or would it be more challenging? 

I'd also thought about a winch, but considering I'll be using a UHaul car hauler trailer, I'd hate to buy a winch for essentially a one or two time use. I'm not ruling it out, however.