Westach 6V Tach

A couple of months ago I ordered a 6 volt tach from Westach. They had to build it, so it took a while to get it. Once it arrived I realized that I didn't have a way to mount it, so I ordered a roll bar mount gauge cup from Summit. The gauge cup mount clamps on the steering column and puts the tach in a good viewing area without having to drill any holes in my dash.

This morning I finally got it wired up and it works great. It is easy to wire. Just two wires. One to the + side of the coil and one to the - side. Fired up the engine and it reads a nice steady 600 RPM, right about where I usually set my idle speed.

IMG_0374_zps20220520.jpg

So then I had to make a test run. I went over to the east side of town and jumped on I-94, ran that west to the next exit where I got off the highway and came home. These pics didn't come out very well, but it's not easy to hold the iPhone steady with one hand.

LADIES AND GENTLEMEN. DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME. I AM A TRAINED PROFESSIONAL UNTRAINED AMATEUR.

For those who continue to think their trucks won't go over 45 MPH...

IMG_0375_zpsaf2c9cd8.jpg

IMG_0376_zpsf9848035.jpg

Reminder; My drivetrain...

Stock, rebuilt 218 CID L6 with .030" overbore. Block and head milled enough to true them up.

Fluid Drive with original 4 speed transmission

Original axles with '50 Plymouth 3.73:1 gear ratio differential.

Yokohama Geolander 235/75R-15 tires that measure 13-11/16" loaded radius (center of axle to the ground), which translates to 27-3/8" diameter

If I plug those numbers into a gear ratio calculator I get 2975.82 RPM at 65 MPH, or 3204.73 RPM at 70 MPH

My speedo reads a little slow, so my actual speed in these pics would have been closer to 68 and 73, which would come out to 3113.17 and 3342.08 RPM, which is pretty close to what the tach shows.

Merle

• Like 1