Advice on removing trim and striping paint?

Guest pistonpackingmama

Guest pistonpackingmama

I bought a '48 Dodge last year and would like to start striping the paint off. I am new to the world of car restoration so any suggestions you can give would help. What is the best way to remove the trim without damaging it? What tools do I need? Can an air compressor be used to aid in striping or do I have to worry about it being too abrasive? Where should I start the striping process? Should everything that will come off (doors etc.) be taken off first or should I work on the body?

I am sure there are other good questions I don't know to ask, so please feel free to post your advice.

thanks!!!

I removed the paint from most of my business coupe as part of the refinishing process. I was lucky enough not to have broken a bolt or more than a couple trim fasteners. Trim is held on by several different style fasteners. Some is bolt and nut like on the hood sides and on the side trim on the trunk. where the clips go int blind holes, they are spring type which snap into place. You the piece on the cowl is retained by nut accessed up over the kick panel and under the dash. Those that are the pushin type usually relase the trim by gently pushing down on the trip piece and prying gently uotward at the bottom. The rocker panel trim is removed the same way. there are nutted clips on the front and rear ends of the piece. Once the trim is off, the clips can be removed. Thec clips are "H" shaped with the fastener on the bar of the "H". Take note of the position of the clips, as the legs are longer on one end, and need to be reinstalled the same way.