Timing Chain Question

Andydodge

All Mopar 6 cylinder timing chains are apparently the same 1934 to 1954 including both 23 and 25" engines then as Plymouth & Dodge only list the six after that from 1956 to 1959 the timing chain is different to the 1955 & earlier engine.........has anyone compared the two and can tell me what the difference is and/or better still the part numbers for each.........thanks, andyd

There is a difference, and I have an incorrect one for my 56 engine some where in my parts stash. I got it through terril and he knows the difference now. I do not remember the whys and wherefors, only that it was different.

Burnedbomb shows two one ending at 55 and the other 56-59

I have no exact experience with the later engine..but if the chain is different then so would be the gears and odds are if you have a matching set to install..should it not work on whatever engine?..the cams and crank were not changed any to my knowledge..but then again..I have not worked with a later flattie though I do a 58 engine here..the assembly (manner of links) of the later chain may be a different stronger process..

Don..on most cars I have seen and SBC is notorious for their many and different timing chain covers..this was a feature of the cover and related lower crank pulley...the relationship of the crank gear and the timing gear on the cam will be the same..(index TDC and 2-1 rotation)...am thinking they went to a different style chain link thus the need for different chain number that should be matched to the cut of the gear teeth themselves, am sure we have a change here also....and if placed in matching sets, all old numbers or all new numbers..still think it should work...

you make it to the 'boro yet??